Dialects

This dialect is spoken in the communities of Mashteuiatsh and Pessamit. This is the only dialect that has the 'l' sound. More broadly, Western Innu includes the Central sub-dialect, which uses the 'n' sound of the Eastern dialects, rather than the 'l'.

This is a sub-dialect of Western Innu; it is spoken in the communities of Uashat, Mani-utenam and Matimekush. This dialect has the 'n' that is also heard in the Eastern dialects.

This dialect is spoken in the communities of Ekuanitshit, Nutashkuan, Unaman-shipu and Pakut-shipu. It is also referred to as the "Mamit" dialect. More broadly, Eastern Innu can include the two Labrador dialects (Sheshatshiu and Mushuau).

This dialect is specific to the community of Sheshatshiu and shares many linguistic features with the Quebec dialects. It is one of two Labrador dialects, which fall under the broader umbrella of Eastern Innu.

This dialect is specific to the community of Natuashish, sharing many words and linguistic features with the neighbouring Naskapi language of Kawawachikamach, Quebec. It is one of two Labrador dialects, which fall under the broader umbrella of Eastern Innu.

Activity completed

Dialectes

Ce dialecte est parlé dans les communautés de Mashteuiatsh et Pessamit et c'est le seul à utiliser le son « l ». Plus généralement, l'innu de l'ouest comprend le sous-dialecte central, lequel utilise le son « n » des dialectes de l'est au lieu du « l ».

Il s'agit d'un sous-dialecte de l'innu de l'ouest, parlé dans les communautés de Uashat, Mani-utenam et Matimekush. Ce dialecte utilise le « n » qui est également entendu dans les dialectes de l'est.

Ce dialecte est parlé dans les communautés de Ekuanitshit, Nutashkuan, Unaman-shipu et Pakut-shipu. On l'appelle aussi le dialecte de « Mamit ». Plus généralement, l'innu de l'est comprend parfois les deux dialectes du Labrador (Sheshatshiu et Mushuau).

Ce dialecte est spécifique à la communauté de Sheshatshiu; il partage de nombreuses caractéristiques linguistiques avec les dialectes québécois. Il s'agit de l'un des deux dialectes du Labrador, qui appartiennent plus généralement à l'innu de l'est.

Ce dialecte est spécifique à la communauté de Natuashish; il partage de nombreux mots et caractéristiques linguistiques avec le naskapi, langue voisine parlée à Kawawachikamach, au Québec. Il s'agit de l'un des deux dialectes du Labrador, qui appartiennent plus généralement à l'innu de l'est.

Exercice terminé